Tags

, ,

During the 2013 field season I was hoping to find Hyobanche thinophila in West Coast National Park. I had previously predicted the distribution would go as far as the dune fields near Langebaan.  We searched the dunes for two days. On the second of those days, I found a stand of Metalasia, which, in my mind, meant good Hyobanche thinophila territory.

Habitat for Hyobanche thinophila

Habitat for Hyobanche thinophila

 

After climbing up this steep dune, my prediction panned out and I spotted a lovely pink dot amidst the Metalasia growing on the side of this active dune.

Hyobanche thinophila on the side of an active dune

Hyobanche thinophila on the side of an active dune

 

It was a very welcome sight, indeed.

Hyobanche thinophila from West Coast National Park

Hyobanche thinophila from West Coast National Park

 

 

Hyobanche thinophila detail

Hyobanche thinophila detail

 

Rhizome bracts subtending inflorescence

Rhizome bracts subtending inflorescence

 

The rhizome extends several meters into the dune. This is a lovely morphology, in my humble opinion.

Dissection of Hyobanche thinophila flower showing the bract, two bracteoles, calyx and corolla.

Dissection of Hyobanche thinophila flower showing the bract, two bracteoles, calyx and corolla.

 

Dissecting the flowers for photography was one of my objectives during the field season. I didn’t have a ruler with me, so a two rand coin is there for scale. The calyx morphology is a little different than what I drew in my description of the species. The calyx is more deeply divided to nearly a 2+2+1 configuration of the sepals.

The manuscript with the species description is available here:

http://www.mapress.com/phytotaxa/content/2013/f/pt00085p060.pdf

Dissection of Hyobanche thinophila flower showing all of the various structures.

Dissection of Hyobanche thinophila flower showing all of the various structures.

 

