Tags

,

Last weekend’s field trip to Whetstone Prairie was a huge success, and it was fun to review the students’ work during Thursday’s seminar. The students made photos of plants, insects, and birds, plus a few nature studies. I’ll post a link to their portfolios at the end of the term.

Today we are going to Mudhen Marsh, a nature preserve at Hoover Reservoir. This is a birding hotspot and a favorite place of mine to visit during different seasons of the year. I changed the trip from Saturday to today because of the rain we had yesterday. However, Steve (my spouse) and I went to Mudhen on a scouting trip and did photography in the drizzle. The advantage of overcast and drizzly skies is that the entire environment becomes a huge softbox and the light is wonderful for color saturation.  Here are a few photos I made yesterday:

Teasel

Teasel

Bird blind at Mudhen Marsh - The field of goldenrod is one of the reasons I selected this site for the students. It's full of interesting insects.

Bird blind at Mudhen Marsh – The field of goldenrod is one of the reasons I selected this site for the students. It’s full of interesting insects.

Orb weaver spider

Orb weaver spider

Thistle and bee

Thistle and bee

Thistle and syrphid fly

Thistle and syrphid fly

Thistle

Thistle

